Relatively Speaking

Our first visitor has just returned to UK and I think I’d be right in saying we are all tired, but happily tired 🙂

Given my relatives, I wasn’t too surprised that immigration took them aside into a separate room… the problem? That she didn’t know our address and so the blank immigration form was rejected. Lesson learned : make sure visitors have your address and warn them about free alcohol on the plane. I have a feeling the second element will need relearning.

href=”https://pinkbikepinksand.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/20130620-135939.jpg”>20130620-135939.jpg

The airport here is small – one of those where you walk down the steps onto the runway straight into the elemental weather, which is usually windy.
Therefore the idea of a plane queuing to land seems odd, but they are apparently updating the radar which means a plane may have to circle several times before coming in, so much so that a few planes recently have arrived without passenger luggage – it was booted off to allow extra fuel for this process. The green/red channels of customs have only just been introduced, along with automated duty machines – the queues here are evidence of the fact that Bermuda depends upon its duties for income, you will pay 25% of the value if it is going to remain on the island – presents up to $30 are allowed, so that still allows you to bring me quite a bit of Cadbury’s chocolate.

So, having retrieved my relative, we drove (slowly of course) back home.
“Why are they beeping at you?”
” Are you going too slow?”
The car horn has many uses in Bermuda:
To say hi to your friends, in cars or pedestrians
To say thank you – for anything and everything
As you pull away from a junction
Taxis beep other taxis
Mopeds beep other mopeds
Trucks beep other trucks
Actually, you are a car, why not beep other cars
In short, the “toot” is a word with many meanings
And I have no idea why they are beeping me!

<a

20130620-140136.jpg

The beach is an obvious destination and we visited 6 (the are more than 30)
And I learnt to snorkel – I am quite proud of that as I hate putting my head under water even though I like swimming, and I am not too keen on being out of my depth – snorkeling requires both. It is worth the initial panics though.
The water is clear and the sand white/pink so it is easy to see the fish and there are lots of them. Doctor fish are similar to but not the same as Surgeon fish – different spots and stripes – those are obviously the common names. I can’t recall the proper names – clearly I need to visit the aquarium again. When I googled “doctor fish” it came up with something completely different – those fish you find in health spas which nibble at your feet.

Bermuda has two cave systems open to the public, at a price that sets slightly unrealistic expectations, Crystal Cave and Fantasy Cave. They are impressive, but it is the story of their discovery that is most interesting – two boys playing cricket lost the ball and decided to follow it down the cleft behind the hedge with a paraffin lamp that gave out, leaving them in the dark for over an hour. The usual lesson on stalagmites and stalactites, please don’t touch, and the inevitable turning off the torch – it was fun, more so because we had arrived early before the cruise ship passengers, and so we had a private tour!
Don’t risk the cafe here though, the prices are not justified and the burgers slightly dubious.

So far we have sampled several of the island eating places, some $$ and some $$$, (I don’t think they do $)
I have uploaded my reviews onto Trip Adviser, as I have found it quite a useful site for holiday planning – and according to Facebook notifications so do lots of other people.
Fish is a menu staple, and they offer far more than the standard UK options (where salmon is now an ordinary fish and choosing cod makes you feel guilty)
I like Wahoo – probably best described as a meet eater’s fish.
Rockfish is good too, but be aware there are many different fish with that name so it won’t always have the same texture or flavor even in the same restaurant.
You have to taste the fish chowder – again each place makes it slightly differently and so far the first I ever tasted was the best, but that may have more to do with the situation than the soup. Say yes to the Sherry Peppers and Rum – they go in the soup.

So we reached the end of the relative’s holiday, add on a plane delay and a faulty boarding pass (you might now be able to guess which of my relatives it was) and I have returned home to some housework – afraid it still has to be done, even in Paradise.

20130620-140844.jpg

One thought on “Relatively Speaking

  1. Becky

    I am loving the glimpse into your ‘Bermuda period’ – like Picasso’s blue period but less…well…blue 😉

    Like

    Reply

Comments welcome

